Valero Texas Open
Pair of Top Ranked Players Commit to Compete
in Valero Texas Open 100th Anniversary
Three of the World’s Top 20 in The Field So Far

SAN ANTONIO, TX — Valero Texas Open officials announced today two more early player commitments for the 144-man field scheduled to compete in the historical PGA TOUR stop on TPC San Antonio’s The Oaks course March 28 - April 3, 2022, a week preceding The Masters tournament.

World No. 14 Scottie Scheffler and No. 20 Abraham Ancer, both born in Texas, will be in San Antonio to help celebrate the 100th anniversary of the Valero Texas Open.

“These early commitments from a pair of young, world-class players is another boost to the field as we prepare to host a Texas-sized centennial celebration this spring,” said Larson Segerdahl, Executive Director of the Valero Texas Open. “And we believe that this is only the beginning of what will be an incredibly strong and exciting field come tournament week.”


Earlier, 2021 champion and World No. 15 Jordan Spieth announced he will defend his title and attempt to become the first Valero Texas Open champion to win back-to-back since fellow major championship winner Zach Johnson accomplished the feat in 2008 and 2009.

Scheffler, a member of the victorious U.S. Ryder Cup team last year, recorded seven top-10 finishes last season, including a T8 at the PGA Championship, T7 U.S. Open and T8 at The Open Championship. He ended the fall portion of this year’s season with a 4th and runner-up finish. The University of Texas graduate turned pro in 2018 and was the Korn Ferry Tour Player of the Year in 2019 on the strength of two victories.

Ancer, a San Antonio resident who won the World Golf Championships—FedEx St. Jude Invitational last year, accumulated nine top-10s that season. He finished the season with a pair of top-10s in the FedExCup Playoffs. Ancer represented Mexico in the Presidents Cup in 2020 and is currently 6th in the International Team Standings for the 2022 Presidents Cup which will be contested later this year.

In addition, eight champions who won the VTO in the past ten years are returning. Joining Spieth are Corey Conners (2019), Andrew Landry (2018), Kevin Chappell (2017), Charley Hoffman (2016), Jimmy Walker (2015), Martin Laird (2013) and Brendan Steele (2011).

Several legendary players and Hall of Fame members will be on hand during tournament week to help commemorate the 100th anniversary. Deane Beman (1969 Texas Open Champion), Ben Crenshaw (1973 & 1986 Texas Open Champion), Hale Irwin (1977 Texas Open Champion), Lee Trevino (1980 Texas Open Champion) and Tom Watson (1987 Texas Open Champion) are all scheduled to appear.

Crenshaw, Trevino and Watson will be featured speakers at the tournament’s annual Night to Honor Our Heroes military appreciation banquet on Friday, April 1. Sponsorships and guest tables are still available for those interested in supporting the event.

PGA TOUR players have until Friday, March 25 at 4:00 p.m. Central Time to commit and can withdraw at any time.

Tickets to the Valero Texas Open are now on sale via Ticketmaster and As is customary, all net proceeds from the event will go to support hundreds of charity organizations throughout South Texas and well beyond.

Given the significance of this year’s historic milestone, tournament officials are planning a variety of celebratory initiatives including the following:

StarValero Texas Open 100th Anniversary Concert presents Jason Aldean and Darius Rucker: The Valero Texas Open will host a one-of-a-kind concert to celebrate the 100th anniversary on Saturday, April 2 with the three-time ACM “Entertainer of the Year,” Aldean and three-time GRAMMY award winner, Rucker. Walker County will kick off the concert following tournament play. All ticket holders attending Saturday’s third round competition will also be able to attend the concert.
Star100th Anniversary History of the Texas Open: Tournament officials are collaborating with award-winning sportswriter and author Kevin Robbins, to tell the story of Texas Open from its origins to present day. This incredible commemorative volume will be complete and available for purchase in time for the tournament.
StarHistorical Golf Course Markers: Tribute historical markers will be placed at the golf courses that have hosted the tournament through the years including Brackenridge Park, Willow Springs, Fort Sam Houston, Oak Hills Country Club, La Cantera, and TPC San Antonio. These historical markers will feature the writings of Kevin Robbins highlighting the tournaments contested along with the years and storied champions for each respective course.
StarCommemorative Artwork: Graeme Baxter, official artist to some of the world’s most important golf tournaments such as The Ryder Cup, The Open Championship and The Presidents Cup has been commissioned to paint a commemorative lithograph of Valero Texas Open‘s tournament course, The Oaks at TPC San Antonio.
Visit for all tournament news, updates, information and to purchase tickets.

Image Image Image Image
Image Image Image Image Image Image