Valero Texas Open
Twenty-One Masters Invitees Playing in Valero Texas Open
Group Led by 2015 Masters Champion and VTO Defending Champion

SAN ANTONIO, TX — So far there will be 21 players in the field for next week’s Valero Texas Open who have already qualified to play in the Masters Tournament the week following.

The Valero Texas Open provides the final opportunity to qualify for this year’s Masters Tournament, with the winner earning an invitation if he is not already qualified. In 2019, Corey Conners became the final player added to that year’s Masters field following his victory in San Antonio. A total of 17 players and 23 players competed in the 2019 and 2021 Valero Texas Open respectively who then went on to compete in the year’s first major championship.

This year’s class scheduled to play the next two weeks includes nine previously announced players: Abraham Ancer, Cameron Champ, Corey Conners, Tony Finau, Lucas Glover, Zach Johnson, Rory McIlroy, Scottie Scheffler and Jordan Spieth.

Those Masters invitees adding their name to the Valero Texas Open field this year include: Garrick Higgo, Harry Higgs, Takumi Kanaya, Si Woo Kim, K.H. Lee, Min Woo Lee, Luke List, Robert MacIntyre, Ryan Palmer, Hudson Swafford, Lee Westwood and Gary Woodland.


Westwood (England) will make his Texas Open debut this year along with several other highly ranked international starts -- Higgo (South Africa), Kanaya (Japan), Min Woo Lee (Australia) and Robert MacIntyre (Scotland).

Woodland, who finished T6 in the event one year ago, makes it back-to-back appearances.

List and Swafford both won earlier this season during the west coast swing. It will be List’s sixth consecutive year in the Alamo City and Swafford’s third start in four years.

PGA TOUR players have until Friday, March 25 at 4:00 p.m. Central Time to commit and can withdraw from the 144-player field at any time.

Several legendary players and Hall of Fame members will be on hand during tournament week to help commemorate the 100th anniversary. Deane Beman (1969 Texas Open Champion), Ben Crenshaw (1973 & 1986 Texas Open Champion), Hale Irwin (1977 Texas Open Champion), Lee Trevino (1980 Texas Open Champion) and Tom Watson (1987 Texas Open Champion) are all scheduled to appear.

Tickets to the Valero Texas Open are now on sale via Ticketmaster and As is customary, all net proceeds from the event will go to support hundreds of charity organizations throughout South Texas and well beyond.

Given the significance of this year’s historic milestone, tournament officials are planning a variety of celebratory initiatives including the following:

StarValero Texas Open 100th Anniversary Concert presents Jason Aldean and Darius Rucker: The Valero Texas Open will host a one-of-a-kind concert to celebrate the 100th anniversary on Saturday, April 2 with the three-time ACM “Entertainer of the Year,” Aldean and three-time GRAMMY award winner, Rucker. Walker County will kick off the concert following tournament play. All ticket holders attending Saturday’s third round competition will also be able to attend the concert.
StarIt’s Been A Journey - The True Story of the Oldest Golf Tournament in Texas: Tournament officials are collaborating with award-winning sportswriter and author Kevin Robbins, to tell the story of the Texas Open from its origins to present day. This incredible commemorative volume will be complete and available for purchase the week of the tournament.
StarHistorical Golf Course Markers: Tribute historical markers will be placed at the golf courses that have hosted the tournament through the years including Brackenridge Park, Willow Springs, Fort Sam Houston, Oak Hills Country Club, La Cantera, and TPC San Antonio. These historical markers will feature the writings of Kevin Robbins highlighting the tournaments contested along with the years and storied champions for each respective course.
StarCommemorative Artwork: Graeme Baxter, official artist to some of the world’s most important golf tournaments such as The Ryder Cup, The Open Championship and The Presidents Cup was commissioned to paint a commemorative landscape of the Valero Texas Open‘s finishing hole.
Visit for all tournament news, updates, information and to purchase tickets.

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image Image Image Image Image Image